Updating a CV

cv
Comical graphic searching through a CV – http://www.epsa-online.org/blog/maybe-a-trainer-can-help-how-to-tailor-your-cv-and-motivation-letter/

In the first of the additional sessions ran through this module, we were challenged with updating our CV. Sounds easy, right?

After initially hearing about it I was very sceptical, given that I already had a CV that had gotten me job opportunities in the past and one I’d had assistance with creating from the Job Centre. I’d been in the working world for five years at this point and was ready to take this session and the following assignment with ease. I was definitely overly complacent and would learn that really quickly.

CV’s

Often in today’s working world your first impression to shine will be with your CV, this after all is just an advertisement for yourself and lets employers know what you’ve been doing to ensure you stand out from the crowd.

This session aimed to teach us how to select key information, identify the different types of CV you can have and create a CV targeted to a certain role which we would be applying for.

What Makes Your CV Great?

Something many idly writing up a CV may forget is that you have something to offer to the company advertising the role and once you’ve read through the application you need to figure out what the employer wants from an employee.

A few key tips given in regards to making the best CV possible were:

  • Ensure it is relevant and targeted to the role
  • The layout is easy to follow, and leads chronologically
  • The content is both engaging, and appropriate for those reading it
  • Spell-check – ensure there are no spelling errors and make sure all your contact details are up to date

Making Use of This Information

job-platforms-FI-816x427
Cardboard sign ‘looking for a job’ – https://vulcanpost.com/600775/malaysia-online-job-hunting-platform-career-apply-2017/

This workshop was aimed specifically at aiding us with the upcoming assignment which was to find a role you were suitable for, create a targeted CV and write a covering letter as if we were actually applying for this job.

My search started in the easiest place I knew to find relevant jobs I knew I would have some beneficial qualities and experience for: The British and Irish Association of Zoos and Aquariums (BIAZA) website. After utilising the job opportunities tab on their website I had a surprisingly small shortlist.

The only job I’d found to be of interest was as a full-time volunteer bird keeper with Newquay Zoo, a placement role for 6 months. I quickly realised that I’d had almost all the relevant experience and had already gotten a qualification that would allow to me to apply.

  • Qualification in animal science; I’d received a Level 3 Extended Diploma in Animal Management from Reaseheath college and currently study on an MZOOL course at Bangor University.
  • Previous animal-related work experience; whilst at Reaseheath we’d worked on the college zoo with all taxa on rotation. I’d also volunteered at exotic pet shops.
  • Communication skills: I’m able to prove my experience with communication with my voluntary roles and running on committee’s for student run societies.

In addition to this, I was already experienced working full time, had experience with animal husbandry in excess of just birds and had experience with behavioural observations and studies.

Conclusion

plio
Header of document with CV writing advice; Bangor University Careers & Employability logo and BEA / HEAR logo

My earlier scepticism was completely taken away by this session, it felt good to remind myself of techniques for writing effective CV’s and be taught how CV standards had changed in the years since I’d originally created mine. Very little needing changing with my CV and as such, obsolete areas were removed or cut down and information included targeted to the role. The biggest time consumer was ensuring it looked good.

I felt the session gave me a real confidence in my ability to write up a CV and target it to any job I would be applying for in future, however, my grade wasn’t what I’d hoped for and feedback didn’t offer many insights into how to improve my work. Despite this I am now more prepared than ever with my updated CV, and I have all the materials provided by the University to progress post degree.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑